You are currently viewing Okaikwei North: 17 Assembly Members, Gov’t Appointees Take Office

Okaikwei North: 17 Assembly Members, Gov’t Appointees Take Office

Some seventeen Assembly Members and government Appointees have been sworn into office for the Okaikwei North Municipal Assembly in Accra.
The officers comprising eleven Assembly members and eight government appointees are expected to assist in the running of the Assembly.
The government appointees are Samuel Kobina Amoako; Helen Bino; Abdulai Nii Odai; Seidu Nkrumah Ibrahim; Leroy Traboulsi and Alice Asamoa-Gyamfi.
The Achimota District Court Judge, His Worship Prince Osei Owusu took the officers through the Oath of Allegiance, Oath of Secrecy and the Oath of Office.
At a ceremony in Accra to inaugurate the Assembly on Monday, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo stated that the Assembly is being inaugurated at a time when efforts are being made by the government through the Ministry of Local Government, Decentralisation and Rural Development (MLGDRD) to improve on the mobilization of Internally Generated Funds (IGFs) of the MMDAs.
“To this end, I wish to entreat you to work closely with each other to create innovative ways of mobilising the needed resources for the development within your areas” the President said in a statement read on his half by the Chief Director at the MLGDRD, Amin Abdul-Rahaman, at the inauguration of Assembly Members of the Okaikwei North Municipal Assembly.
Mr. Abdul-Rahaman tasked the officers to build good working relationships with the Assembly.
He urged the officers to establish strong partnerships and collaborate with the local structures particularly, the urban, town, zonal and area council, the unit committees and traditional authorities as well as other identifiable groups to facilitate the work of the District Assembly.
The Municipal Chief Executive, Honourable Boye Laryea for his part indicated that the inauguration is another step to further consolidate and deepen the democracy of Ghana.
“This is a manifestation of the confidence reposed in you by the electorates in your various Electoral Areas in the Municipality. It is a vote to further advance the course of development in your various communities and to be the mouthpiece of progress and unity and more especially spearhead the general good of the Electoral Areas” he said.
The Okaikwei North MCE urged the Assembly members and the government appointees to work in unity and focus on the growth and development agenda of their communities.
Honorable Laryea said “Your parochial interests must give way to the larger good of your Electoral Areas and be reminded that the mandate given to you by the electorates is an opportunity to serve”.
Present at the ceremony were Mr. Francis Mensah, the Municipal Coordinating Director, officials from the Greater Accra Regional Coordinating Council, the Members of Parliament for Okaikwei North and Central Constituencies, Heads of Departments, Traditional Authorities among others
By Jeffrey De-Graft Johnson

Leave a Reply