You are currently viewing Okaikwei North Assembly Elects Presiding Member

Okaikwei North Assembly Elects Presiding Member

The Okaikwei North Municipal Assembly in the Greater Accra Region has elected Honourable Nii Odai Abdallah as the Presiding Member for the Assembly.
The election is pursuant to Session 17 of the Local Government Act 2016, Act 936.
Honourable Abdallah polled 15 of valid votes cast to beat his contender for the position, Honourable Rashid Alhassan, the Assembly Member for Blemagor Electoral Area who had 3 votes.
Madam Eunice Yeboah Quaye the Municipal Electoral Officer who presided over the election, in declaring Honourable Abdallah as the Presiding Member-elect for the Assembly explained that the Presiding Member required two-thirds of the membership of the Assembly which is 13 votes.
She subsequently declared Nii Abdallah as the Presiding Member-elect for the Okaikwei North Municipal Assembly.
In his speech to the Assembly, the Presiding Member, thanked the members for the confidence reposed in him and promised to lead a united Assembly.
He stated “’At long last the battle has ended with the election of the PM, Thanks to all of you….”
Honourable Abdallah urged the Assembly Members to rally behind the common goal of developing their various Electoral Areas and eschew divisive partisan political interests.
The Okaikwei North Assembly Presiding Member was emphatic about the use of the Assembly as the platform for pursing political agendas.
He noted that he has taken a cue from the election in view of the fact that he could not get the majority votes in the earlier attempt.
The Presiding Member reminded the Assembly members to be responsive to the needs and aspirations of the residents in their Electoral Areas and give meaning to the votes from the electorates.
Honourable Abdallah assured the members that his doors are always opened to them to assist them in any capability.
The Municipal Coordinating Director Mr. Francis Mensah was optimistic the Assembly would be successful in its attempt to elect a Presiding Member following earlier failed attempts.
The Achimota District Court Judge, His Worship Prince Osei Owusu swore Honourable Abdallah into office.
He administered the Oath of Allegiance, Oath of Secrecy and the Oath of Office to the Presiding member.
The Municipal Chief Executive Honourable Boye Laryea has since congratulated Honourable Abdallah over his election.
By Jeffrey De-Graft Johnson.

Leave a Reply